Chapter Four – Kyoto Day 3

“Today, we have Kyoto Marathon! Unfortunately, the road is closed now so the bus only can take you until here” Said the bus station officer with his best effort for explaining to me why the bus stop before we arrived at Arashiyama.

“You can walk! It’s only 10 minutes from here!”, He added it when he saw me with my confused-as-always face. 10 minutes walking for Japanese people = 30 minutes walking for Indonesian.

Screen Shot 2017-03-25 at 11.00.44 AM
Lesson of the day: Always check the current event of the city you desired to visit!

The bus I take from hostel to Arashiyama was made a stop and then turn back at Kyoto Bus Co. Ltd., Head Office building. It was 1,3 km before Togetsukyo bridge. Before start walking I bought some bottled drinks at Lawson because at the end I just take a long breath and agree with myself that I will walk to Arashiyama. I’m almost there! No turning back!

(Well, the worst thing that can happen is I get lost, going to the nearest police station, and they will took me to the nearest train station, right?).

(Or if the police can’t speak or understand english, scenario no 2: let’s give them my boss phone number and let him explain that his employee was lost and please take her to the nearest train station/bus stop)

(If Nakamura-san or Jimba-san read this: I probably will do scenario no 2 if I really get lost at Japan’s remote area where’s there is no internet signal. Hontōni gomen in advance *bowing*)

But actually, I have saw a special welcome sign at my hostel that welcoming people who joining Kyoto Marathon, also when I have breakfast at hostels common area, I met 3 persons wearing a complete running suit (running t-shirt, light parka, sports legging, running shoes, and running hat) but I have no idea the event will be held today! So after trying to remember, it’s my fault for not putting attention after all. Gomen, my feet -_-

DSCF4814
Kyoto Marathon 2017

It’s really fun to watch the marathon! Everyone is cheering up and give high-five to the marathon attendee (hmm, athletes?) and saying “Ganbareeee! Ganbare! Ganbare! Ganbare!”. If you watch my previous insta stories, you can see that we are not allowed yet to crossing the street. We have to wait until the marathon finished.

DSCF4818
20 minutes later, marathon for this area are finished

After the marathon was finished, we can finally cross the street! I directly go up for the bamboo groove!

DSCF4826
Find a beautiful house on my way up to the bamboo grove
DSCF4827
Make a quick stop at this shrine
DSCF4829
so you write your wish in a wooden block, and then hang it on the back
DSCF4832
After praying, you go shaking the big bells over there
DSCF4895
Arashiyama Bamboo Grove!
DSCF4834
Just in time when the sun came out
DSCF4836
So tall

 

After visiting Arashiyama bamboo grove, I went to Tenryuji Temple.

DSCF4849
‘Fluctuation of Relaxation’ #saidgoogletranslate
DSCF4851
I don’t mind living in here forever
DSCF4855
Very clean environment
DSCF4856
Swear to God I’m not editing the color. It’s just beautifuuuul.
DSCF4858
Even though it’s dry, still beautiful!

 

 

DSCF4859
*hold my breathe*
DSCF4863
Not really crowded because it’s still around 10am in the morning
DSCF4865
Here fishy fishy fishy
DSCF4868
I want to have a picnic here!
DSCF4869
I’m amazed with the fact that the weather is around 10 celsius and the plant is still alive

 

DSCF4872
pretty!
DSCF4881
Looks like tiny srikaya for me
DSCF4882
Google said this flower will be used for making high-quality paper in Japan
DSCF4901
Find ume tree on my back from Tenryuji Temple
DSCF4905
So colorful!
DSCF4907
Way down
DSCF4912
Katsura river
DSCF4914
You can rent a boat for cruising in Katsura river, 3000 yen for one hour!
DSCF4917
Hey birdie!

Arashiyama, check! Now moving to Kiyomizudera!

DSCF4922
Kiyomizudera entrance
DSCF4925
A huge ‘guci’ (hmm jar?) with incense on it
DSCF4931
The wooden-block-wish hanging wall
DSCF4932
You can also get some paper fortune reading in here. If it’s the good one, you take it back home, if it’s the bad one, you can hanging it on the temple.
DSCF4935
Go away bad luck!
DSCF4944
Breath-taking view!
DSCF4947
Way down
DSCF4948
You can drink water from here. And don’t worry about germs, because they have UV-sterilizer back there for the bailer
DSCF4951
Way up for exit
DSCF4954
This temple is huge!
DSCF4956
I wonder why they wearing apron…
DSCF4958
You can stop and having hot ocha and dango in here
DSCF4960
You can have it outdoor or indoor

Next, Fushimi Inari!

 

DSCF4966
Fushimi-Inari entrance
DSCF5005
A bit crowded because I’m going here in the evening
DSCF4985
Waiting until it’s empty and fastly take a picture
DSCF5009
My favorite photo. If only I could zoom a little bit more.

 

DSCF5013
Shiba-Inu!

For visiting the Tenryuji and Kiyomizudera, you have to pay 400 yen for the entrance ticket. But it’s worth it guys! I’m going to all those places (Arashiyama, Kiyomizudera, Fushimi-Inari) using Kyoto bus pass so I only have to pay 500 yen!

I’m going back to hostel around 7 pm with my feet that feel like a limp noodle. I really wish I could visit Kinkaku-ji and Toji temple but they are closed at 5 pm. Maybe this is a sign I have to visit Kyoto again someday? We’ll see!

 

 

Leave a Reply

