Arriving in Japan

dscf4566

I arrived at Tokyo Haneda International Airport 7 AM in the morning.

The immigration process went really smooth. I get my luggage, check my phone, activating data roaming, top-up my suica, and then walking to the train station. Landing at the airport without anybody picking me up isn’t a new thing for me.

I have prepared with google maps direction. I’m pointing at one place to another based on my itinerary, make a screenshot of it, and saved it on my phone image gallery. This time, I’m going to my hostel after arriving at the airport with the local train (not Tokyo monorail), JR Keikyu-Kuyo Line.

And that’s where the story begin.

I’m enjoying that morning train ride. Everything seems like perfect. Sun just came okay, the weather is chill but I still okay with it. I check my current position on google maps, and I’m still on the right route.

img_4535
The route should be like this one

I should make a quick transit at Keikyu-Kamata station, hop on the same train but on another track, BUT I DIDN’T DO that. I just realize it when the train suddenly going back to the earlier direction but it’s not on the same railway track.

I’m panic and was like OMG OMG OMG. I stop at I-don’t-know-what-station-it-is and getting back to Keikyu-Kamata station. You might be thinking what’s so hard with just going back to the right station. Oh dear, we have 2 problems in here:

  1. I bring a 17kg luggage
  2. It’s now entering the time of people for commuting for work

You. didn’t. want. to. know. what. it’s. like. when. people. start. commuting. for. work. in. japan.

Within 15 minutes, The Keikyu-Kamata station situation has changed. IT WAS REALLY REALLY REALLY CROWDED. I’m trying to read the train information board (they have one in english) and then waiting in I-think-this-one-is-the-right-one platform. But since I’m a bit worried I’ll be using the wrong train for the second time, I’m asking the station officer which train I should take for Asakusa. And yep, I’m waiting at the wrong platform. I take the right train (with my 17kg luggage and like 20 people going inside the train at the same time, it’s really hard to sneak in), and then checking one more time on google maps. Oh, I’ve been on the right route this time. Phewww.

Sorry to disappointed you but the problem isn’t ended yet, lol.

I’ve arrived at Asakusa station shortly after that, and realize something.

Exit 1, Stairs.
Exit 2, Stairs.
Exit A4, Stairs.
Exit 3, Stairs.
Exit 4, Stairs.

WHAT DO YOU MEAN THERE’S NO ESCALATOR?

I take a look at my luggage and screaming inside. NOOOOOOOOOO.

Fast forward, I found myself carrying my 17kg luggage and walking up with stairs that probably equal with a 3rd-floor building. Thank God I only have a backpack on my shoulder. Can’t imagine if I have an extra tote bag to carry. Maybe I’ll straightly send it away to trash bin.

I’m going up with super annoyed face and taking break every 4 steps of stairs. The other tourist (which are just like me, not expecting they have to walk up through the stairs), carrying their large suitcase just like it was feather inside. One of them even carrying 2 large suitcases at the same time. EXCUSE ME, ARE YOU HULK OR WHAT?

After what seemed like a year, I arrived at Sensoji Temple exit. Never been this happy to see an exit. My hand is so hurt. I can’t feel my finger anymore. My body is sweating buckets in winter. Hostel is still 10 minutes away walking from the station and I never been so grateful in my life that the road in Asakusa is just completely HORIZONTAL, not uphill.

A very important note on this blog post: Don’t forget to check that your station having an elevator at some exit. Actually, Asakusa station HAVE ONE in A2 Exit. The nice Jinrikisha person telling me about that exit after I was staring cluelessly in front of Asakusa information board and thinking should I take train or I just walk to Higashi-Nihonbashi (because it’s not really far and I rather walk than repeat those horrible carrying luggage experience). He pointing at A2 Exit at information board and said “Errevator! Errevator!”.

Aaaah my life is bright again. After that, I always check the station map about which exit that have elevator for going upstair. No more carrying luggage with stairs!

Leave a Reply

