Me and Language

I was 7 years old that day.

I have english homework and asking my aunt for a help. We are learning about noun.

Everything was fine, until suddenly…

Aunty : “So, what is Nénék?”

(Nénék = How you call grandmother in Indonesian)

Me: “Nénék is not a noun”

Aunty: “What do you mean!”

Me: “Nénék is not a noun”

Aunty: “What do you mean!”

*Repeat this conversation 45x*

*my grandma shouting from the back* “Nénék is a noun!”

Me (almost crying because I don’t understand): “But Nénék is not a stuff… She is a human…”

 

Me and my 7 years old logic.

Leave a Reply

